IPL bowling records: Most wickets, best economy, hat-tricks, and more

IPL bowling records: Most wickets, best economy, hat-tricks, and more

IPL, Indian Premier League, IPL 12, IPL 2019, Indian Premier League 2019, Lasith Malinga, Amit Mishra, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine, most wickets bowling records

The Purple Cap was initiated three weeks after the Orange Cap, which probably shows the emphasis on batting IPL puts ahead of bowling – but then, that is true in any cricket contest. Sohail Tanvir was the first to win the Purple Cap. Since then, barring a few exceptions, the award has been split between CSK and the two Hyderabad franchises.

Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have won the Purple Cap twice, while Pragyan Ojha is the only spinner to have won it. Here is the complete list.

Sohail Tanvir2008RR2212.096.4611
RP Singh2009DCh2318.136.9816
Pragyan Ojha2010DCh2120.427.2917
Lasith Malinga2011MI2813.395.9514
Morne Morkel2012DD2518.127.1915
Dwayne Bravo2013CSK3215.537.9512
Mohit Sharma2014CSK2319.658.3914
Dwayne Bravo2015CSK2616.388.1412
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2016SRH2321.307.4217
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2017SRH2614.197.0512
Andrew Tye2018KXIP2418.678.0014

His best years may be behind him, but Lasith Malinga still stands tall at the head of IPL wicket-takers, though, given his fitness at this stage, Amit Mishra and Piyush Chawla may still catch up.

Lasith MalingaMI15419.016.8617
Amit MishraDCh, DD, SRH14624.147.3920
Piyush ChawlaKXIP, KKR14026.237.7120
Dwayne BravoCSK, GL, MI13624.178.4317
Harbhajan SinghCSK, MI13427.277.0523
Bhuvneshwar KumarPWI, SRH12022.447.1519
Sunil NarineKKR11222.306.5420
Umesh YadavDD, KKR, RCB11128.158.3220
R AshwinCSK, KXIP, RPS11026.446.7224
Ashish NehraCSK, DD, MI, PWI, SRH10623.537.8418
Vinay KumarKTK, KKR, MI, RCB10528.248.3920
Zaheer KhanDD, MI, RCB10227.277.5822

There is no doubt that Sunil Narine has been KKR’s greatest asset over years, and here is reason why.

Only two of the nine most economic bowlers – with a 50-over cut-off – have been pacers: Glenn McGrath and Dale Steyn. Yes, that is what it takes.

Here is a list of the most economic bowlers.

Sunil NarineKKR11222.306.5420
Anil KumbleRCB4523.516.5721
Glenn McGrathDD1229.756.6127
Muttiah MuralitharanCSK, KTK, RCB6326.926.6724
Rashid KhanSRH3821.476.6819
Dale SteynDC, GL, RCB, SRH9225.066.7222
R AshwinCSK, KXIP, RPS11026.446.7224
Roelof van der MerweDD, RCB2123.716.7421
Daniel VettoriDD, RCB2831.396.7828
Lasith MalingaMI15419.016.8617
Johan BothaDD, KKR, RR2532.006.9128
Dimitri MascarenhasKXIP, RR1918.736.9316

Put a 50-wicket cut-off, and Malinga stands way clear of others in terms of bowling average. In fact, nobody else has come within a range of 3 runs per wicket.

Here is the list of best bowling averages in IPL history. Sandeep Sharma’s inclusion may be a revelation.

Lasith MalingaMI15419.016.8617
Imran TahirCSK, DD, RPS5322.268.4216
Sunil NarineKKR11222.306.5420
Bhuvneshwar KumarPWI, SRH12022.447.1519
Munaf PatelGL, MI, RR7422.947.5118
Sandeep SharmaKXIP, SRH8323.137.7318
Ashish NehraCSK, DD, MI, PWI, SRH10623.537.8418
Yuzvendra ChahalMI, RCB8223.567.7718
Amit MishraDCh, DD, SRH14624.147.3920
Dwayne BravoCSK, GL, MI13624.178.4317
Mitchell McClenaghanMI6824.428.5417

Only two men have taken multiple five-wicket hauls in IPL history, and they are probably not the ones you expect.

James FaulknerGL, KXIP, PWI, RR5930.138.69212
Jaydev UnadkatDD, KKR, RR, RPS, RCH6826.778.39192

When it comes to 4 or more wickets in an innings, Narine has a significant lead – more so given that he has been a late entry.

Andrew Tye’s record makes excellent reading: he has only 36 wickets, but that includes 4 four-wicket hauls.

Sunil NarineKKR11222.306.5420167
Lasith MalingaMI15419.016.8617145
Andrew TyeGL, KXIP3616.368.0013134
L BalajiCSK, KXIP, KKR7626.688.0420134
Ravindra JadejaCSK, GL, KTK, RR9330.207.7623134
Amit MishraDCh, DD, SRH14624.147.3920134
Anil KumbleRCB4523.516.5721123
Munaf PatelGL, MI, RR7422.947.5118123
Bhuvneshwar KPWI, SRH12022.447.1519123

Tanvir’s 6/14, set in the first edition, still remain the best bowling figures in IPL history. Adam Zampa is the only other bowler to have taken 6 in an innings. Here is the list of all 5-wicket hauls.

Sohail Tanvir40146RRCSKJaipur2008
Adam Zampa40196RPSSRHVizag2016
Anil Kumble3.1155RCBRRC Town2009
Ishant Sharma30125DChKTKKochi2011
Lasith Malinga3.41135MIDDDelhi2011
Ankit Rajpoot40145KXIPSRHHyd2018
R Jadeja40165CSKDChVizag2012
J Faulkner41165RRSRHHyd2013
Amit Mishra40175DDDChDelhi2008
Andrew Tye40175GLRPSRajkot2017
Harbhajan S40185MICSKMumbai2011
Sunil Narine40195KKRKXIPKolkata2012
Bhuvneshwar K40195SRHKXIPHyd2017
James Faulkner40205RRSRHJaipur2013
Munaf Patel40215MIKXIPMohali2011
L Balaji40245CSKKXIPChennai2008
D Mascarenhas40255KXIPPWIMohali2012
Jaydev Unadkat40255RCBDDDelhi2013
Jaydev Unadkat41305RPSSRHHyd2017

Mishra is the only bowler to take 3 IPL hat-tricks, while Yuvraj Singh has 2. One curious entry on the list is that of Rohit Sharma, who does not bowl anymore.

L BalajiKXIPCSKChennai2008
Amit MishraDChDDDelhi2008
Makhaya NtiniKKRCSKKolkata2008
Yuvraj SinghRCBKXIPDurban2009
Rohit SharmaMIDChCenturion2009
Yuvraj SinghDChKXIPJohannesburg2009
Praveen KumarRRRCBBangalore2010
Amit MishraKXIPDChDharamsala2011
Ajit ChandilaPWIRRJaipur2012
Sunil NarineKXIPKKRMohali2013
Amit MishraPWISRHPune2013
Axar PatelGLKXIPRajkot2016
Samuel BadreeMIRCBBangalore2017
Andrew TyeRPSGLRajkot2017
Jaydev UnadkatSRHRPSHyderabad2017

There was no hat-trick in IPL 2018. Perhaps it’s time.