New Zealand vs India 2019-20 1st T20I, statistical preview: India up against old enemies at lucky venue

New Zealand vs India 2019-20 1st T20I, statistical preview: India up against old enemies at lucky venue

Yuzvendra Chahal India New Zealand

India will kickstart their overseas stint in 2020 with 5 T20Is in New Zealand, the first two of which will be played at Eden Park, Auckland. Ahead of the series, here is a statistical preview.

Statistical preview

0 T20Is between India and New Zealand without MS Dhoni so far. This will be the 1st.

0.375 win-loss ratio of India against New Zealand (3 wins, 8 defeats), their worst against any team by some distance. In fact, New Zealand are the only side against whom India have lost more matches than won.

0.6 win-loss ratio of New Zealand at Eden Park (6 wins, 10 defeats), their 2nd-worst at home, after their 0.5 at Lancaster Park, Christchurch (1 win, 2 defeats). In fact, only two teams – Zimbabwe (0.111 at Harare Sports Club) and Sri Lanka (0.25 at P Sara Stadium, Colombo) have worse ratios at a home ground with a 10-match cut-off, while Bangladesh also has 0.6 at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.

1 wicket needed by Mitchell Santner (49) and 3 needed by Ish Sodhi (47) to become the 3rd New Zealander and 33rd overall to reach 50 wickets.

1 T20I win for India in New Zealand in 5 matches – but that has come at Eden Park.

2 wickets needed by Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal (4 each) to go past Irfan Pathan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (5 each) and become the leading wicket-taker for India against New Zealand.

2.667 win-loss ratio of New Zealand against India (8 wins, 3 defeats), their best against any team with a 10-match cut-off. New Zealand have a 7-0 record against Bangladesh and 6-0 against Zimbabwe.

11 wickets for Sodhi against India, 9 for Santner, and 7 for Tim Southee, the most.

14 runs needed by Colin Munro (248) to go past Brendon McCullum (261) and become the leading run-scorer for New Zealand against India.

26 runs needed by Rohit Sharma (198) to go past MS Dhoni (223) and become the leading run-scorer for India against New Zealand.

38 catches by both Virat Kohli and Rohit, the joint-2nd among Indian non-wicketkeepers. Only Suresh Raina (42) has held more catches.

46 catches for Martin Guptill, the joint-3rd most among all non-wicketkeepers. Only David Miller and Shoaib Malik (50 each) have held more. Ross Taylor has 44.

53 wickets for Bumrah, the most in Indian history. However, Bumrah is just 1 ahead of Chahal, who is also in the squad. R Ashwin also has 52.

57 runs needed by Rohit (2,633) to go past Kohli (2,689) and secure the highest aggregate in T20I history. However, Kohli will also play the match.

64 runs needed by Guptill (2,346) to become the 3rd cricketer in history to reach 2,500 runs, after Kohli (2,689) and Rohit (2,633), both of whom will play the match.