Indian Premier League 2019 statistical preview: Chennai the most successful team, Delhi the worst

Indian Premier League 2019 statistical preview: Chennai the most successful team, Delhi the worst


0 team change for Virat Kohli for 12 seasons now. He is the only one to feature for the same franchise – Royal Challengers Bangalore – for this long.

0.736 win-loss ratio of Delhi Capitals (67 wins, 91 defeats), the worst among active teams. They are followed by Kings XI Punjab (0.86) and RCB (0.929).

1.607 win-loss ratio of Chennai Super Kings (90 wins, 56 defeats), the best. They are followed by Mumbai Indians (1.329) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (1.329).

2 teams have changed their name since inception and the Delhi franchise is the second. The erstwhile Delhi Daredevils will play as Delhi Capitals this time. The other instance is of the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiants, who removed the “s” at the end in their second season, in 2017.

3 hat-tricks for Amit Mishra, the most. Yuvraj Singh has 2, while 12 others have one apiece.

6 teams have won the IPL till date – CSK, MI (thrice each), Kolkata Knight Riders (twice), Rajasthan Royals, the now-defunct Deccan Chargers, and SRH (once each).

6/14 best figures in IPL history, by Sohail Tanvir for RR against CSK at Jaipur in 2008. At that point these were the best T20 figures. Adam Zampa (6/19) is the only other one to take 6 wickets in an innings.

13 ducks for Harbhajan Singh, the most. Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir, Manish Pandey, Parthiv Patel, and Piyush Chawla have 12 each.

19 dismissals by Kumar Sangakkara in 2011, the most by a wicketkeeper in a single season. Adam Gilchrist in 2009, Dinesh Karthik in 2015 and 2018, and Naman Ojha in 2016 all had 18 apiece.

19 catches by AB de Villiers in 2016, the most by a non-wicketkeeper in a single season. Kieron Pollard (15 in 2017) is next.

32 wickets for Dwayne Bravo in 2013, the most by any bowler in a single season. Bravo is followed by Lasith Malinga (28 in 2011) and James Faulkner (28 in 2013 but no Purple Cap).

49 lowest IPL team score, by RCB against KKR at Kolkata in 2017.

95 catches for Suresh Raina, the most for a non-wicketkeeper by some distance. Rohit (79) is next, followed by de Villiers (78).

97 matches for S Ravi as umpire, the most. Ravi and Kumar Dharmasena (94) are the only ones to stand in 70 or more matches.

124 dismissals for Karthik, the most by a wicketkeeper. MS Dhoni (116) is the only other one in three figures.

154 wickets for Malinga, the most. Four others have crossed the 125-wicket mark: Mishra (146), Chawla (140), Bravo (136), and Harbhajan (134).

159 matches as captain for Dhoni, significantly more than Gautam Gambhir (129). Nobody else has led his side even 100 times.

171 matches played by MI, the most. The other teams to play 150 or more matches are RCB (167), KKR (164), KXIP (162), and DC (161).

175* highest IPL individual score, by Chris Gayle for RCB against Pune Warriors India in 2013. This is also the best score in all T20 cricket. Brendon McCullum (158* in the first ever IPL match, then a world record) is the only other one to score over 150.

176 matches for Raina, the most. Dhoni (175) comes next, followed by Rohit (173) and Karthik (168).

177 strike rate for Andre Russell, the most by anyone with a 500-run cut-off. Narine (169) is next.

263/5 highest IPL team score, by RCB against PWI at Bengaluru in 2013.

291 sixes for Gayle, the most by a considerable margin. De Villiers is next, with 187.

973 runs by Kohli in 2016, the most by any batsman in a single season. Despite occupying the 2nd spot with 848, David Warner did not win the Orange Cap, as he got the runs in the same year.

1,128 dot balls for Harbhajan, the most. Praveen Kumar is next, with 1,075.

4,985 runs by Raina, the most. Seven others have crossed the 4,000-run mark: Kohli (4,948), Rohit (4,493), Gambhir (4,217), Robin Uthappa (4,129), Shikhar Dhawan (4,058), Dhoni (4,016), and Warner (4,014).