Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20: Preview – October 12

cricket generic

Nine matches of the 2019-20 Vijay Hazare will be played on October 12 – three in each of Elite Groups A (at Bengaluru and Alur), B (at Vadodara), and C (at Jaipur).

Elite Group A (Bengaluru and Alur): Karnataka vs Saurashtra, Kerala vs Goa, Andhra vs Jharkhand

Karnataka have been the team to beat in the group. Given that they are also playing at home, they will hold an upper hand over Saurashtra. Kerala are favourites against Goa and Jharkhand against Andhra.

Elite Group B (Vadodara): Vidarbha vs Odisha, Punjab vs Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra vs Haryana

Haryana should beat bottom-of-the-table Maharashtra; table toppers Punjab are likely to defeat Uttar Pradesh; and Vidarbha have been marginally than Odisha this time.

Elite Group C (Jaipur): Madhya Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu, Railways vs Tripura, Rajasthan vs Bihar

Having won all 7 (as have Gujarat), Tamil Nadu are overwhelming favourites against Madhya Pradesh; Tripura, one of the surprise packages of the year, should beat Railways; and Rajasthan, second-last in the league, hold an edge over last-placed Bihar.