New Zealand Women vs South Africa Women, 5th T20I, Dunedin: Preview, prediction, likely XIs

New Zealand Women vs South Africa Women, 5th T20I, Dunedin: Preview, prediction, likely XIs

New Zealand South Africa

New Zealand Women wrapped up the T20I series against South Africa Women with a 70-run win, at Wellington. They now hold an unassailable 3-1 lead in the 5-match series. The teams will now face off for one final time, at University Oval, Dunedin.

Sophie Devine continued with her devastation of the South African bowlers, bringing up her maiden T20I hundred – a 65-ball 105. Devine now has 297 runs in the series – more than thrice as much as Mignon du Preez (97), the next batter on the list. Devine found support from Suzie Bates (47 in 46), with whom she added 142 in 100 balls for the second to help New Zealand reach 171/2.

In response, South Africa collapsed to 102, with Lizelle Lee (25 in 22) being the only one to reach double figures. Anna Peterson led the rout with 4-0-14-3; she found support in Jess Kerr (3-0-17-2).

Given how the series has panned out, New Zealand should win this one as well.

Head to head

New Zealand hold an 9-2 lead including 3-1 at home (the teams had never met on New Zealand soil before this series).

Key players

Sophie Devine (New Zealand Women): Not only is the New Zealand captain's 297 runs the most in the series, she has also got them at 151, having got out just once. To add to that, her series figures read 8.5-0-73-4.

Lizelle Lee (South Africa Women): South Africa will need a breakneck start if have to win this one – and who better to do that than Lee? There is little doubt that she will be going after the New Zealand pacers from the very onset.

Likely XIs

New Zealand Women: Sophie Devine (c), Lauren Down, Suzie Bates, Hayley Jensen, Katey Martin (wk), Maddy Green, Amelia Kerr, Anna Peterson, Holly Huddleston, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair.

South Africa Women: Lizelle Lee, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Dane van Niekerk (c), Chloe Tryon, Sune Luus, Nadine de Klerk, Trisha Chetty (wk), Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba.