Indian Premier League 2019: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Indian Premier League 2019: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

IPL 2019 12 Mumbai Indians MI champions

This was an important season for Mumbai Indians. They had failed to qualify for the knockouts in the previous edition, and had seen Chennai Super Kings return to the tournament after a two-year ban, and subsequently win it for a third time, thus becoming joint-most successful side along with Mumbai themselves.

Mumbai needed a statement of intent, and they provided that in one of the more thrilling editions of the tournament. They clashed with Chennai, again in the final, but this time, the script was different, just about.

Mumbai won the final by a scarcely-imaginable one run. Chennai were undone by Lasith Malinga, and the IPL had a new undisputed champion – it was Mumbai’s fourth title, more than any other side had managed. For Chennai, the loss could be put down to small margins of luck, but the fact that it came against their fiercest rivals escaped no one.

There was decent competition elsewhere. Delhi Capitals, under new owners and a new philosophy, had a markedly improved performance over previous seasons, finishing third on the league table, before progressing through till Qualifier 2. The battle for fourth spot was a lot more closely fought – it was decided on net run-rate, with Sunrisers Hyderabad pipping the rest.

Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab, both of whom finish on equal points with Hyderabad, finished fifth and sixth, while Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore brought up the rear of the table, with the Bangalore side once again putting in a particularly disappointing campaign.

Qualifier 1, Chennai, May 7: Chennai Super Kings 131/4 in 20 overs (Ambati Rayudu 42*, MS Dhoni 37*; Rahul Chahar 2/14) lost to Mumbai Indians 132/4 in 18.3 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 71*; Imran Tahir 2/33) by 6 wickets. Player of the Match: Suryakumar Yadav.

Eliminator, Visakhapatnam, May 8: Sunrisers Hyderabad 162/8 in 20 overs (Martin Guptill 36, Manish Pandey 30; Keemo Paul 3/32) lost to Delhi Capitals 165/8 in 19.5 overs (Prithvi Shaw 56, Rishabh Pant 49; Rashid Khan 2/15) by 2 wickets. Player of the Match: Rishabh Pant.

Qualifier 2, Visakhapatnam, May 10: Delhi Capitals 147/9 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant 38; Dwayne Bravo 2/19, Ravindra Jadeja 2/23) lost to Chennai Super Kings 151/4 in 19 overs (Faf du Plessis 50, Shane Watson 50; Trent Boult 1/20) by 6 wickets. Player of the Match: Faf du Plessis.

Final, Bengaluru, May 12: Mumbai Indians 149/8in 20 overs (Kieron Pollard 41*; Deepak Chahar 3/26) lost to Chennai Super Kings 148/7 in 20 overs (Shane Watson 80; Jasprit Bumrah 2/14) by 1 run. Player of the Match: Jasprit Bumrah.

Orange Cap: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 692 runs, 12 matches

Purple Cap: Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings) – 26 wickets, 17 matches

MVP: Andre Russell