Indian Premier League 2013: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Indian Premier League 2013: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Kieron Pollard Mumbai Indians 2012 2013

One of the most eventful IPL seasons, 2013 witnessed at least three major incidents. Sun TV Network acquired Deccan Chargers and renamed it to Sunrisers Hyderabad, while Pune Warriors India opted out of the tournament after the edition.

But perhapss more significantly, Delhi Police arrested Rajasthan Royals' S Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila, and Ankeet Chavan for spot-fixing. This, in turn, led to the arrests of several bookies. Both Rajasthan and Chennai Super Kings were banned in 2016 and 2017 as the invesstigations proceeded.

Chennai Team Principal Gurunath Meiyappan, also son-in-law of BCCI President N Srinivasan, was arrested as well, while Rajasthan co-owner Raj Kundra was barred for life from being part of any cricketing activity.

As for the cricket, Chris Gayle was at it again. He missed a hat-trick of Orange Caps by 26 runs, but created history when he smashed 175 off just 66 balls – still the highest score in all T20 cricket – against Pune.

Mumbai Indians won their first title this season, converting an erratic run to a clinical triumph after Rohit Sharma replaced Ricky Ponting as captain. Four Mumbai cricketers topped the 400-run mark, while four got 16 or more wickets.

Kieron Pollard, not utilised properly for three seasons, finally came into his elements with 420 runs at 149, 10 wickets, 12 catches, and some excellent outfielding. He also top-scored in the final.

Dwayne Bravo's 32 wickets remain the most by anyone in a single edition of the IPL. He helped Chennai reach their fifth final in six editions (including four in a row), where they lost to Mumbai by 23 runs.

Brief scores

Brief scores:

Qualifier 1, Delhi, May 21: Chennai Super Kings 192/1 in 20 overs (Michael Hussey 86, Suresh Raina 82; Kieron Pollard 1/28) beat Mumbai Indians 144 in 18.4 overs (Dwayne Smith 68; Dwayne Bravo 3/9, Ravindra Jadeja 3/31) by 48 runs. Player of the Match: Michael Hussey.

Eliminator, Delhi, May 22: Sunrisers Hyderabad 132/7 in 20 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 33; Vikramjeet Malik 2/14) lost to Rajasthan Royals 135/6 in 19.2 overs (Brad Hodge 54*; Darren Sammy 2/27) by 4 wickets. Player of the Match: Brad Hodge.

Qualifier 2, Kolkata, May 24: Rajasthan Royals 165/6 in 20 overs (Rahul Dravid 43; Harbhajan Singh 3/23) lost to Mumbai Indians 169/6 in 19.5 overs (Dwayne Smith 62; Kevon Cooper 2/33) by 4 wickets. Player of the Match: Harbhajan Singh.

Final, Kolkata, May 26: Mumbai Indians 148/9 in 20 overs (Kieron Pollard 60; Dwayne Bravo 4/42) beat Chennai Super Kings 125/9 in 20 overs (MS Dhoni 63; Harbhajan Singh 2/14) by 23 runs. Player of the Match: Kieron Pollard.

Orange Cap: Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) – 733 runs, 17 matches
Purple Cap: Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) – 32 wickets, 18 matches
MVP: Shane Watson