Women’s T20 World Cup 2009: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Women’s T20 World Cup 2009: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Women's T20 World Cup 2009 England

With 20-over cricket gaining in popularity, the inaugural women's edition was hosted alongside the second edition of the men's version, in England. Eight teams participated in the tournament, with all matches in the two groups being played in the Round Robin format at County Ground, Taunton. This was followed by the semi-finals and final.

New Zealand topped the more difficult of the two groups after restricting Australia to 123/8 and winning by 9 wickets – though neither side had any problem in defeating South Africa or West Indies.

The other group, too, followed a similar pattern, with England thrashing India by 10 wickets and both teams defeating Sri Lanka and Pakistan after restricting both sides below 100 every time.

The semi-finals and final were played just before their counterparts in the men's edition on the same venues and dates, at Trent Bridge, The Oval, and Lord's respectively. New Zealand and England cruised to the final, where the hosts won strolled to a win after bowling out New Zealand for 85.

Semi-final 1, Trent Bridge, June 18: New Zealand 145/5 in 20 overs (Aimee Watkins 89*; Amita Sharma 2/21) beat India 93/9 in 20 overs (Amita Sharma 24; Sian Ruck 2/18) by 52 runs. Player of the Match: Aimee Watkins.

Semi-final 2, The Oval, June 19: Australia 163/9 (Leah Poulton 39; Laura Marsh 1/12) lost to England 165/2 in 19.3 overs (Claire Taylor 76*; Rene Farrell 1/32, Ellyse Perry 1/32) by 8 wickets. Player of the Match: Claire Taylor.

Final, Lord's, June 21: New Zealand 85 in 20 overs (Amy Satterthwaite 19; Katherine Brunt 3/6) lost to England 86/4 in 17 overs (Claire Taylor 39*; Sophie Devine 1/12) by 6 wickets. Player of the Match: Katherine Brunt. Player of the Tournament: Claire Taylor.

Most runs: Aimee Watkins (New Zealand) – 200 runs, 5 matches
Most wickets: Holly Calvin (England) – 9 wickets, 5 matches