Indian Premier League 2014: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Indian Premier League 2014: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders 2012 2014

Back in 2009, the General Elections had posed security concerns in India, as a result of which the entire tournament was played in South Africa. This time the first 20 matches were hosted in the UAE.

Glenn Maxwell, who had been released by defending champions Mumbai Indians, was acquired by Kings XI Punjab. Maxwell demonstrated incredible form, slamming 552 runs at 188 to win the MVP and the moniker of Glendeep Singh. David Miller, too, got 446 runs at 149.

Virender Sehwag (122 in 58 balls) produced an incredible innings in the Qualifier 2, while Wriddhiman Saha (115 not out in 65) became the first to score a hundred in an IPL final. However, they were bettered by Kolkata Knight Riders, who won their second IPL title.

With 660 runs at 138, Robin Uthappa of Kolkata won the Orange Cap, while Mohit Sharma of Chennai Super Kings (23 wickets, economy 8.39) got the Purple Cap. Kolkata's Sunil Narine finished 2 wickets behind Mohit, but conceded just 6.35 an over.

Brief scores

Qualifier 1, Kolkata, May 28: Kolkata Knight Riders 163/8 in 20 overs (Robin Uthappa 42; Karanveer Singh 3/40) beat Kings XI Punjab 135/8 in 20 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 35; Umesh Yadav 3/13) by 28 runs. Player of the Match: Umesh Yadav.

Eliminator, Mumbai, May 28: Mumbai Indians 173/8 in 20 overs (Lendl Simmons 67; Mohit Sharma 3/42) lost to Chennai Super Kings 176/3 in 18.4 overs (Suresh Raina 54*; Harbhajan Singh 2/27) by 7 wickets. Player of the Match: Suresh Raina.

Qualifier 2, Mumbai, May 30: Kings XI Punjab 226/6 in 20 overs (Virender Sehwag 122; Ashish Nehra 2/51) beat Chennai Super Kings 202/7 in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 87; Parvinder Awana 2/59) by 24 runs. Player of the Match: Virender Sehwag.

Final, Bengaluru, June 1: Kings XI Punjab 199/4 in 20 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 115*, Manan Vohra 67; Piyush Chawla 2/44) lost to Kolkata Knight Riders 200/7 in 19.3 overs (Manish Pandey 94; Karanveer Singh 4/54) by 3 wickets. Player of the Match: Manish Pandey.

Orange Cap: Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 660 runs, 16 matches
Purple Cap: Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings) – 23 wickets, 16 matches
MVP: Glenn Maxwell