Indian Premier League 2010: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

Indian Premier League 2010: Teams, summary, winner, most runs and wickets

IPL 2010 Chennai Super Kings

After a year in South Africa, IPL finally returned to India. IPL 2010 became the first cricket tournament to be broadcast live on YouTube. Additionally, the shunned ICL players who accepted the BCCI amnesty also became eligible for the auction.

Chennai Super Kings won the tournament thanks to a three-pronged spin attack. Two of them were fresh faces: Shadab Jakati of Goa and a local called R Ashwin. The third was Muttiah Muralitharan. They complemented Albie Morkel, their all-rounder, and Doug Bollinger, who came in as replacement for Jacob Oram.

The three spinners and Bollinger all conceded under 8 an over, while Morkel finished with a batting strike rate of 151. Along with MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina, they formed the nucleus of the side. This, despite none of their cricketers winning the Orange Cap, the Purple Cap, or the MVP.

Chennai beat Mumbai Indians in the final after both teams won easy semi-finals, against Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers respectively.

Lalit Modi, IPL Convenor and BCCI Vice-President, was suspended the day after the final on multiple allegations. These included, among others, rigging of franchise bids to charging for broadcasting rights to leaking classified BCCI information for money. However, he fled to London before he could be arrested.

Semi-final 1, Navi Mumbai, April 21: Mumbai Indians 184/5 in 20 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 52*; Dale Steyn 2/43) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore 149/9 in 20 overs (Ross Taylor 31*; Kieron Pollard 3/17) by 35 runs. Player of the Match: Kieron Pollard.

Semi-final 2, Navi Mumbai, April 22: Chennai Super Kings 142/7 in 20 overs (S Badrinath 37; Ryan Harris 3/41) beat Deccan Chargers 104 in 19.2 overs (Andrew Symonds 23; Doug Bollinger 4/13) by 38 runs. Player of the Match: Doug Bollinger.

Third place, Navi Mumbai, April 24: Deccan Chargers 82 in 18.3 overs (Anirudh Singh 40; Anil Kumble 4/16) lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore 86/1 in 13.5 overs (Rahul Dravid 35*; Rahul Sharma 1/24) by 9 wickets. Player of the Match: Anil Kumble.

Final, Navi Mumbai, April 25: Chennai Super Kings 168/5 in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 57*; Dilhara Fernando 2/23) beat Mumbai Indians 146/9 in 20 overs (Sachin Tendulkar 48; Shadab Jakati 2/26) by 22 runs. Player of the Match: Suresh Raina.

Orange Cap: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) – 618 runs, 15 matches
Purple Cap: Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers) – 21 wickets, 16 matches
MVP: Sachin Tendulkar