India vs Australia, 1st T20I statistical preview: Records await India, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah

India vs Australia, 1st T20I statistical preview: Records await India, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah

India had returned from the Australian shores with 2-1 wins in both the Tests and the ODIs. Before that, however, Australia had managed to draw the T20I series 1-1. Australia had won the first T20I by 4 runs before India came back strongly. Australia were 132/7 when the second match had to be called off, while Krunal Pandya and Virat Kohli guided India to an easy win in the third.

India will now host Australia for 2 T20Is and 5 ODIs. India have a head-to-head of 1.83 against Australia in T20Is. On Indian soil that shoots up to 4.

Both history and form are both stacked against Australia. But while India are firm favourites, one cannot rule out the possibility of Australia winning a match in the 20-over format. After all, a single win is all it takes to finish a 2-match series unbeaten.

Statistical preview

0 non-Pakistani bowler has taken more wickets against Australia than Jasprit Bumrah (12). However, Saeed Ajmal (19), Mohammad Amir (16), and Umar Gul (15) all have more wickets than him.

1 uncapped player in the Indian camp – Mayank Markande. He may become the 79th Indian to win a T20I cap.

1 uncapped player in the Australian camp – Peter Handscomb. He may become the 94th Australian to win a T20I cap.

1 T20I played at Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam till date, in 2015-16. India bowled out Sri Lanka for 82 (R Ashwin took 4/8) and won by 9 wickets with 37 balls to spare. Another match, scheduled in 2012-13 between India and New Zealand, was washed out without a toss.

3 wickets needed by Bumrah to become India’s leading wicket-taker against any one country. Yuzvendra Chahal has 14 wickets and Ashwin 13, both against Sri Lanka.

5 wickets needed by Bumrah (48) to become India’s leading wicket-taker in T20Is. Bumrah will go past Ashwin (52). Before that, he will also become the 2nd Indian to take 50 T20I wickets. Chahal has 45.8 Indians have taken 6 or more wickets in T20Is between India and Australia. Among them, Bumrah (12) has most. Surprisingly, no Australian has taken 6 wickets: that list is headed jointly by Jason Behrendorff and Adam Zampa (5 each).

11 T20I wins for India against Australia (they have lost 6), their joint-most against any country. India have also won 11 T20Is against Sri Lanka. On the other hand, Australia have lost more T20Is (12) only against Pakistan.

12 runs needed by Virat Kohli to become the 1st cricketer in the world to score 500 T20I runs against any nation. From 14 matches, Kohli has scored 488 runs against Australia at 61 and a strike rate of 143. Martin Guptill (463 vs Pakistan) is the only other batsman to have scored over 450 against a single side.

18 T20Is between India and Australia till date and Rohit Sharma has played every single one of them. MS Dhoni has featured in 15 and Kohli in 14. Of Australians, Aaron Finch and Glenn Maxwell have played 11 each.

49 T20Is for Shikhar Dhawan. He is set to become the 6th Indian to play 50 T20Is, after Dhoni (96), Rohit (93), Suresh Raina (78), Kohli (65), and Yuvraj Singh (58).

58 runs needed by Dhoni to go past Raina (1,605) and become the 3rd-highest T20I run-scorer for India. Only Rohit (2,326) and Kohli (2,167) have scored more.

106 runs needed by Kohli (2,167) to become the 2nd-highest run-getter in T20I history. Guptill is on 2,272 runs and Shoaib Malik on 2,263. However, Rohit (2,326) is some distance away.

4041 days since Australia’s last bilateral T20I series win against India. Australia’s only series win was in a one-match contest, played on February 1, 2008. Of the seven series, India have won 3 and 3 have been drawn.