Cricket news round-up – November 30: West Indies win inside seven sessions

Cricket news round-up – November 30: West Indies win inside seven sessions

Rahkeem Cornwall West Indies

West Indies won the Lucknow Test against Afghanistan by 9 wickets; New Zealand and Australia took control in their respective Tests, at Hamilton and Adelaide respectively; and Abhimanyu Mithun took 5 wickets in an over in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

West Indies win by 9 wickets

It took West Indies just over an hour on Day 3 to wrap up the Test. Jason Holder (3/20) got Rashid Khan, Yamin Ahmadzai, and Afsar Zazai quickly, allowing Afghanistan to add only 11 to their overnight total of 109/7.

West Indies needed only 31. Amir Hamza had Kraigg Brathwaite caught off the glove, but John Campbell and Shai Hope saw them home in 6.2 overs. Rahkeem Cornwall was named Player of the Match for his match haul of 10/121.

Latham puts New Zealand ahead on rain-hit day

Tom Latham's 101 helped New Zealand survive two early blows and finish a truncated Day 1 at Hamilton on 173/3. Latham found support in Ross Taylor (53); they added 116 for the third wicket to help lift New Zealand from 39/2.

Stuart Broad and Chris Woakes had, respectively, taken out Jeet Raval and Kane Williamson early in the morning, but Latham had carried on, unperturbed. He now averages 119 from his last 10 Test innings.

Warner, Labuschagne slam hundreds

Only 73 overs of cricket was possible at Adelaide, but that was enough for Australia to pile on 302/1. David Warner (166*) and Marnus Labuschagne (126*) added 294 at well over 4 an over. They were particularly severe on Yasir Shah, whose 14 overs went for over 6 apiece.

Pakistan struck early, with Shaheen Shah Afridi (1/48) teasing Joe Burns outside off and inducing an edge. Unfortunately, that was the only success the Pakistanis had in the day. With Steven Smith yet to bat, Australia look set for a big total and another massive win.

Mithun creates history

Abhimanyu Mithun took five wickets in the last over of the Haryana innings in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy semi-final, at Surat. He is the second bowler in T20 history to do so, according to ESPNCricinfo. Al-Amin Hossain had done this for UCB-BCB Eleven against Abahani Limited in 2013-14.

Mithun had Himanshu Rana (caught Mayank Agarwal), Rahul Tewatia (caught Karun Nair), Sumit Kumar (caught Rohan Kadam), and Amit Mishra (caught Krishnappa Gowtham) with the first 4 balls, and Jayant Yadav (caught KL Rahul) off the last.